The European Union will close its borders to all non-essential travel as it attempts to contain the ongoing spread of the coronavirus on the continent. The bloc's member states imposed aggressive measures on Monday, days after the World Health Organization (WHO) said Europe was at the epicenter of the pandemic. Commission President von der Leyen said the EU travel restrictions would be in place "for an initial period of 30 days," and could be prolonged. French President Emmanuel Macron declared "war" on the virus during a national address on Monday, banning all social events across the country -- including family gatherings. Germany also announced new restrictions on public life, closing bars, clubs, discos, and similar establishments, as well as theaters, opera houses, concert halls and museums.